Rawze.com: Rawze's ISX Technical Discussion and more
Just bought my first truck - Printable Version

+- Rawze.com: Rawze's ISX Technical Discussion and more (http://rawze.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Big Truck Technical Discussion... (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: ISX Related Help (/forumdisplay.php?fid=68)
+--- Thread: Just bought my first truck (/showthread.php?tid=8088)

Just bought my first truck - MotherTrucker - 03-07-2022

Unfortunately, I found this forum AFTER I bought the truck, so please no hate ;) I’ve been driving for almost 4 years. I bought a truck in Jan. It’s a 2008 W9 with a demandated ISX (I believe that makes it a 871). I’ve spent hours on here reading about the engine and the delete…it’s not a good one. It has a BW turbo and an after market manifold. The truck runs well so far (and so far as I can tell) but I know the turbo is a sign of a bad delete. I’m not the most mechanical person out there, and a lot of what’s discussed here is over my head…so here’s my current issue. The jakes suck. I’ve read on here that can be a direct result of the non-VGT turbo. Can I replace the BW with a VGT? Where’s the best place to get one? Do I need to do the manifold too? Should I just bring it to one of the gurus on here and have them fix whatever garbage has been done to it or is this something I can work with my local guy on? I’m on the road now, and am more than willing to catch a load towards any location if that’s what you all recommend. And if I’ve missed sharing any pertinent information, please let me know. Thanks in advance for the advice!

RE: Just bought my first truck - Rawze - 03-07-2022

Sounds like you bought into an abused engine for sure. That is never a good thing... and your troubles.. and any progressive damage to the engine internally due to that type of abuse is likely unknown at this point.

U can get a VGT turbo from YTS ...
http://rawze.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=7407&pid=65315#pid65315