High EGT......HELP!!!!
11-26-2016, (Subject: High EGT......HELP!!!! ) 
High EGT......HELP!!!!
Hello everybody, this is my first time posting here, I've been doing a lot of reading and like what I see. So I'm going to throw my issue out there and see if I can get any help. I've got a 2009 KW ISB with the 6.7 Cummins rollback. When the temperatures outside are above about 70 degrees I get the red engine shut down light....(knock on wood the engine has never shut down) but the light will blink and beep 1-3 times. Now that the temperatures have dropped outside I'm getting a check engine light. I've had it to the dealership to read the codes and am told it's not throwing any codes just reading high exhaust gas temperatures. All of this seems to take place after brief idling for loading and unloading vehicles. I have replaced the turbo, had the catalyst filter and dpf filters cleaned and baked. I have cleaned the soot from the egr valve to the egr cooler, I have replace crankcase sensor, the sensor in the crossover tube, the sensor under the cooler, both of these sensors I am told are egt temperature sensors. I'm well into $20,000 trying to resolve this issue through the dealership and trying to resolve the issue myself. I am at my wits end and am coming here with hopes of resolving. Any help is greatly appreciated.
replyreply
RE: High EGT......HELP!!!!
you are probably losing Boost Pressure, look for exhaust or intake leaks.

User's Signature: In the immortal words of Romeo as he gazed upon Juliet's eyes..."Wait...We Drank What?!"
replyreply
Thanks for the reply.....is there a way to test for an intake leak.....the dealership had taken the intake off to clean out carbon buildup.....do you think it is possible they re-used a bad gasket when putting it back together ?
replyreply