Transmission swap
12-19-2016, (Subject: Transmission swap ) 
Transmission swap
I currently have a Eaton Fuller 10 speed. I would like to swap this out, and put a automatic in. Has anyone done this? How much of a proble am I looking at?
replyreply
12-19-2016, (Subject: Transmission swap ) 
RE: Transmission swap
(12-19-2016 )74bassman Wrote:  I currently have a Eaton Fuller 10 speed. I would like to swap this out, and put a automatic in. Has anyone done this? How much of a proble am I looking at?

You'll need a new transmission, the wiring harness and shifter controls. Depending on the truck, you may swap out the Contreras consol to fit the controls. Computer and you'll need to reprogram.

zif you find a wrecker yard with one and grab all of these things then it's pretty easy.

And I don't care what people tell you.... You cannot use the same transmission! There absolutely are internal differences.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
12-25-2016, (Subject: Transmission swap ) 
I wouldn't swap to auto.. way too complicated .

Why not swap the truck ?
replyreply
12-25-2016, (Subject: Transmission swap ) 
(12-19-2016 )74bassman Wrote:  I currently have a Eaton Fuller 10 speed. I would like to swap this out, and put a automatic in. Has anyone done this? How much of a proble am I looking at?
my personal experience is you are asking for more probs with auto. Less mpg, will leave your ass sitting on side of road. More expensive to maintain. I would not own a truck with auto, my partner wont have anything else. It let him down in BFE, $14,000 later he got going. Thus is just my experience.
replyreply
12-26-2016, (Subject: Transmission swap )