My c15 rebuild
01-19-2017, (Subject: My c15 rebuild ) 
My c15 rebuild
./uploads/201701/post_1367_1484808710_d2607b7538d73ce5b6c6e238a70ccf84.jpg./uploads/201701/post_1367_1484808750_8ea8fd295ff6acd2fc255b284b700f17.jpg

Here is my 2008 cat c15 being tore down. Engine had so much blowby that it was blowing oil fill caps off and loads of oil flying out of the blowby tube. We assumed wed see broken rings but we didn't, what we saw was number 3 and 4 (mostly 3) the liners were so very badly worn and the skirts on the piston as well. Looked like the rings were digging into the sleeves.

Heads cracked as well, cam is not the greatest.

Mechanic figures the damage is due to constant lugging of the motor, I usually drive my prostar so I can't speak to that but I'm wondering about bad timing in the tune. Getting it over to unilevers after its done anyways.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Texasdude74 , Running rough , Pro Star Cummins
RE: My c15 rebuild
How many hours/miles are on it? The factory tune on those things is God awful and the timing is off. Once Unilever takes care of that it will be a totally different animal. A Cat instead of a dog!
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Running rough
I do believe even cat engine recommend the c15 Acert to run 1500 to 1600 rpm when pulling 140000 lbs or more, I can't see where a moter will last if a guy is trying to pull super bs at 1200 rpm up a mountain all day everyday, unless of coarse the engine was specifically designed to do so like the Volvo d16xe, I can see extreme lugging damaging Piston skirts and vibrating liners, not say that's what happened with Brock's moter but I have seen c15 acerts with simuler symptoms where the skirts on the pistons are heavily scratched and burning oil like its goin out of style mind u it was a higher milage engine
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Brock