Wide base steer tires psi?
04-29-2017, (Subject: Wide base steer tires psi? ) 
Wide base steer tires psi?
Never ran wide tires but the truck I just bought has 385/65/22.5 on it.

I know some of you run these things. What have you found to be a good pressure to run? 50/50 on off road. Fuel mileage isn't the goal here, this is what I'm working with and the tires going on....

./uploads/201704/post_1367_1493494624_938db81fdcde4cd4febbff2c970e05d4.jpg

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Wide base steer tires psi?
When I had wide base tires I ran 120 in them but I was 99% highway driving. Anything less caused the edges to wear faster than the center of the tread. I think I would play with it till I found a happy median as different tires have different degrees of stiffness in the sidewall flex. No two brands are the same.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Brock
That's a really nice looking truck. Drove one just like it moving drilling rigs. Thinking we ran them 100-105. In ND so 50/50 or so on/off rd
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo , Brock
we ran all ours at 110. even with perfect alignment and tire maintenance they will start to wear funny and prematurely. them's the ropes with those big rubber - we even ran a few trucks with 445's up front.

you need to set the toe in to 1/8 inch on those big boys as they fly out at highway speeds about that much and give you a nice straight ride! btw that is a very nice unit!
replyreply
Thumbs Up Wide base steer tires psi?
(04-29-2017 )Rockycoon75 Wrote:  That's a really nice looking truck. Drove one just like it moving drilling rigs. Thinking we ran them 100-105. In ND so 50/50 or so on/off rd

Turner Gas, out of Fairfield Montana... Blue and White bottles hauling propane, butane and Y-Grade... Spent nearly 4 years up there.
replyreply
Sweet rig Brock!
replyreply