I need help with gear oil..
06-15-2017, (Subject: I need help with gear oil.. ) 
I need help with gear oil..
I have read over and over and over that I should be putting a gallon of gear lube in my engine at every oil change and I cannot bring myself to do it, I think because I don't know what exact kind to use.

http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/motoma...p.html#srp

What about this stuff, would it serve the purpose? What brands do you guys use?
replyreply
06-16-2017, (Subject: I need help with gear oil.. ) 
RE: I need help with gear oil..
I have been using this for 2 years now in my engine half a gallon in winter and a gallon in summer. And if you search the forum Rawze explains what's good for what good you can do to your engine.

Attached File(s)Thumbnail(s)

replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo
Because of the great EPA, oil companies have had to remove key minerals, like Zinc, from engine oil over time. The EPA mandated this because every engine will eventually burn oil, creating emissions. Zinc, when burned, creates ash. This can clog catalytic convertors over time. However, Zinc is a great anti-wear mineral. It coats bearing races, reduces engine wear, and prevents dry starts. While there are some engine oils that still have Zinc in their oil (Rotella), it is at a much lower amount than before.

Gear oil still contains high amounts of zinc and there is no threat of the zinc turning to ash inside a transmission or differential. Most everyone here uses Sta-Lube. You can get it at Napa or Amazon. As MBlazevic stated above, one whole gallon in the summer and half a gallon in the winter.

If you have difficulty getting Sta-Lube, you can also use Mobil One gear oil. However, it is much more expensive.

User's Signature: 2013 Volvo 670 with Big Red under the hood
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo , Roysbigtoys