DPF replacement
08-01-2017, (Subject: DPF replacement ) 
DPF replacement
Replace the DPF and keeping the DOC. Any other suggestions?
I have been babying it for a few months now, I got 1200 - 1500 miles between static regens driving at 62 and below, about 200 - 300 miles between when driving at anything above 64. I believe the white residue was from the bad doser leaking coolant (replaced a long time ago). It doesn't use any coolant and between 2 and 3 quarts on 15k oil changes(rotella). Is there any tuning that can help an engine that maintains the mandate?
Thanks.

replyreply
RE: DPF replacement
Off topic.. The pink color to both filters would scare me, desn't take much coolant and the metals on the filter are gone..
replyreply
The only codes (if any) I've been getting are DPF related, i.e. too frequent being the only one I can remember.

Plus I've taken the challenge of using my foot to operate the accelerator. That was an automatic 1 mpg increase in fuel milage. Milage figure driving at 62 is 6.85 with 80K(flatbed,) 7.68 with my normal load of 50K - 60K. The last time I had to use my foot was in the early 80's, after that it was all company positions with no incentive for fuel milage. Now that I own it, I owe it to myself to get every last MPG out of it.
replyreply
It is possible to do a tune that allows you to keep the mandate while improving the soot issue in both the oil and the dpf. Gearhead, Mr hag or unilevers would be able to accomplish that.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: fargonaz , Hammerhead
(08-01-2017 )Nilao Wrote:  It is possible to do a tune that allows you to keep the mandate while improving the soot issue in both the oil and the dpf. Gearhead, Mr hag or unilevers would be able to accomplish that.

Yup, Uni helped tune a buddy of mine's 2250 w/mandate, and he couldn't be happier with it to date...

User's Signature: Why? Why do I always ask "why?" Because I can't learn or help teach others with "'cause I said so..."
replyreply