Hvac relay?
08-07-2017, (Subject: Hvac relay? ) 
Hvac relay?
My 08 Prostar has a issue and I can't find the problem. My blower will stay on high..... even if I turn the truck off with no key in it. The only way to get it to stop is to pull the fuse.

When I move the speed control on the hvac controller, it sounds like it's trying to work butbjust stays on high, even if I unplug the hvac controller, the fan keeps blowing on high.

All wiring looks mint from what I can see, this seems to me a simple case of a relay that seized in the closed position but there is no hvac relay in my panel...... there has got to be a relay right? If so where in the f is it?[/align]

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Hvac relay?
As far as I know all the guts for the blower is behind the kickpanel in the passenger floor. It's all next to the blower so you have to pull the plastic cover below the fuse box cover. It's not hard once you see how it is done but the first time will be a six pack at least.
replyreply
Oh ya, I'm far past that point. I've realized now there is no relay, direct power right to the resistor and the resistor controls the rest. So, off to town to get a new resistor.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
(08-07-2017 )Brock Wrote:  Oh ya, I'm far past that point. I've realized now there is no relay, direct power right to the resistor and the resistor controls the rest. So, off to town to get a new resistor.

Mine in the back bunk went bad. I wired a 30-amp relay up to it and a switch to control the relay that comes on/off with the ignition. I am likely going to make it 2-speed, so I need to limit the current when it is on low...