inspecting main and rod bearings
10-25-2017, (Subject: inspecting main and rod bearings ) 
inspecting main and rod bearings
Have a truck with cm870 with 1.2mil miles. The main and rod bearings were never changed. I bought a new set and studied a quickserve procedure with dissasembly and assembly but looks really difficult for me at this point. Maybe I will start with just inspecting them. Truck is at my lot and I have some time to work on it. Any suggestions regarding inspection? Also watched Rawze videos about overhaul.
replyreply
10-25-2017, (Subject: inspecting main and rod bearings ) 
RE: inspecting main and rod bearings
I've never rolled my bearings myself, always paid a mechanic to do it but if your taking them off to inspect them.... isn't 75% of the job done? Don't you just use the one from the cap to tap out the upper bearing and slide/tap the new one in, put a new one on cap and reinstall?

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: dhirocz , JMBT
10-26-2017, (Subject: inspecting main and rod bearings ) 
(10-25-2017 )ktbtrucking Wrote:  Have a truck with cm870 with 1.2mil miles. The main and rod bearings were never changed. I bought a new set and studied a quickserve procedure with dissasembly and assembly but looks really difficult for me at this point. Maybe I will start with just inspecting them. Truck is at my lot and I have some time to work on it. Any suggestions regarding inspection? Also watched Rawze videos about overhaul.

My suggestion,... have someone who knows what they are doing help you on it if there is any question. Also, your going to need a honkin' big air gun (a 3/4" air-cat comes to mind) on the main cap bolts. Those things area bout 450-500 ft-lbs when torqued properly. Follow torquing procedure in the book carefully and mark all bolts with arrows so that you know if they have been rotated correctly according to procedure.