Egr cooler question
03-30-2016, (Subject: Egr cooler question ) 
Egr cooler question
I recently went to look at a 2013 T800 with a ISX 450, 220,000 miles. Truck had been sitting 8 weeks without use. The owner told me he had no issues when it was parked but when he started it the day before I showed up it had a check engine light and was 3 gallons low on coolant. He took it to the dealer who pressure tested the system and found no external leaks. The shop told me they expect a bag egr cooler. I returned home. The seller calls me about 4 hours later and says it was only clamps needed replacing, truck is good to go now. 1st question is can this be possible and if it's true how could it not be external? I'm just learning about the egr engines, I have 2007 C-15 now but it's getting old. Any help is appreciated!
replyreply
RE: Egr cooler question
The EGR cooler will not leak externally, and that coolant is going somewhere... I have been trough all of this with my CM-871 and coolant loss... To leak 3 gallons of coolant is either a lose clamp and there is a big puddle or stain over 8 weeks or it is in the motor somewhere... Any white smoke at start up?

To test the EGR cooler, remove the tube off the back and see if it is full of coolant, or wet or dry with your finger, and then pressure test. You do not have to remove the cooler to do this. Rawze has a video on this... Or take it to the dealer and let them do it, if they know how... Why is he selling it?
replyreply
Trucks that are profitable do not get sold. Keep that in mind when purchasing it.

Plan a trip to Mr. Hag (Atlanta), or the Unilevers shop (Canada or Indianna), or Gearheads shop (Maryland) in its very near future after getting it to have it gone through if you want to not have any problems with it down the road.