Low oil pressure after shim
05-14-2018, (Subject: Low oil pressure after shim ) 
Low oil pressure after shim
When I originally shimmed my oil pump, I didn't have good results but I thought maybe it was because I put my shim piece in before the spring so today I dropped my pan and moved the shim into the dog bone and no change

I'm running down the highway at 32psi at 1600 rpm with 200 degree oil. At dead idle I'm at 12psi.

Rods and mains are new. Oil pressure verified with a manual gauge, it out by a couple psi but low anyways for a shimmed pump. I've got the updated oil bypass valve although I did read someone on here before about there being a couple different ones so I don't know if maybe I've got the wrong one in there..... pretty sure that's that correct one.

Weak oil pump? Weak regulator? What do you guys think?

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Low oil pressure after shim
http://rawze.com/forums/archive/index.ph...-1472.html

At one point I had very good oil pressure but it didn't last. Today I put smaller shim in and it didn't change the pressures at all.......

Maybe I'll swap that relief valve again for fun.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
I'd have to go with either a weak pump or the block to pump gasket is spewing oil....
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Brock