Differential seal question
05-26-2018, (Subject: Differential seal question ) 
Differential seal question
On my tri drive, my middle diff is leaking at the bottom where the pumpkin bolts to the banjo housing so I need to slide the diff forward a bit and re silicone it.... Question is there any leeway without removing the axle shafts? Can the pumpkin slide out even a half inch, enough to get a silicone tip in there?

Today I did a bad wheel seal on the same axle and it took a very very long time to get the axle out the one side as the cones in the axle studs were seized in there solid! Had to fight to remove some and fight even harder to remove the stud on others...... If I could get away with not opening the other side, they would be great ...,.... But I doubt it.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Differential seal question
You may find that you can do what you say by a little bit with some pry bars. Your problem is going to be the oil coming out of the rear is going to constantly be on the seal surface and not getting enough of a gap to get sealant up high enough. It may be an exercise in futility to even try. Cleaning it real well, retorquing all the bolts and sealing from the outside may be a better route.

But if your headstrong on trying, your best bet is to drain the oil out real close to a very Steep Hill. After the oil is out drive it up the incline and let it sit for a long time. That keeps the oil left in at the back of the pumpkin housing.

I suspect that either 1 of these ideas are temporary so your time may be better spent doing it the right way the 1st time, biting the bullet and not having to worry about it after.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Brock
I wonder what caused the leak to start with?.
Abuse?
Age?
overheat?
road debris?

that is what would concern me first.

User's Signature: ->: What I post is just my own thoughts and Opinions! --- I AM Full Of S__T!.
replyreply