Electrical power loss-help
06-30-2018, (Subject: Electrical power loss-help ) 
Electrical power loss-help
2010 PB 386.
Truck cut out. I got off the road. Checked wiring from batt to ecm. Replaced fuses. Swapped out ign batt feed fuse in cab. Disconnected inverter and heaters. Made it into truckstop. Code is intermittent power loss from ignition.
Will start, and run but dies.
If it sits a while, it will run a bit. That’s how I got in truckstop.
Then it will start and shut right off.
I let it idle for a while, and then it died.
Is there a thermal switch somewhere? Does that sound like a short in a wire or connector?
Help
replyreply
RE: Electrical power loss-help
Make sure both plugs into the ecm are tight. They have an Allen head screw in the middle that loves to back out. My friend has to tighten his every year and usually gets 1 or two turns to resnug them.
replyreply
Is it intermittent ignition power loss to ecm?

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
(06-30-2018 )Nilao Wrote:  Make sure both plugs into the ecm are tight. They have an Allen head screw in the middle that loves to back out. My friend has to tighten his every year and usually gets 1 or two turns to resnug them.

Less than 1/2 turn. Still does it. Thanks
replyreply
(06-30-2018 )Brock Wrote:  Is it intermittent ignition power loss to ecm?

Yes. Now it runs for two seconds and stops, and goes back to normal.
replyreply
http://rawze.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=2969

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
Quick run down, only a couple things it could be....... it's either a bad ground connection or the ignition power wire or a bad ecm.

On the left hand side of the ECM is a 4 pin Deusht connector with only 3 wires, one is constant power, one is switched power (your ignition power) and one is ground.