870 turbo overspeed cel
07-21-2018, (Subject: 870 turbo overspeed cel ) 
870 turbo overspeed cel
870 in a kenworth t800 with 422,000 mi. Demandated(Unilever) gets a cel when loaded and going through the gears. Been doing it for a while. It doesn't happen at any certain rpm but I did notice that when the light comes on the boost gauge is at 40 and sometimes a hair over. Isn't that to much boost? I know a turbo overspeed code could be caused by a boost leak but could it even make that much boost if it had a leak?

User's Signature: im_seeing_parameters_in_my_sleep 1
replyreply
RE: 870 turbo overspeed cel
When you have a boost leak with a vgt/vnt turbo, the ecm corrects and compensates for the low boost condition and "adds more boost" which causes it to overspeed.

Please trust me here as it cost me a turbo, this is no joke man...... Fix that boost leak now because it won't be long till your pushing oil.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Starlight
40 is maximum. about the code on mine it only happens above 6500 feet. And my boost is around 37-40 but if you are less than 550hp your boost should be around 35 substained. You could have a small boost or exhaust leak as well. I actually watched on insite how the turbo rpm increase 2k rpm a second and then it jumped from 120k exact to over 150k rpm in a 2 second window. I was reassured by Uni that a 30k jump that quickly would destroy a turbo so I question the valadility of the data, and according to the troubleshooting tree it points to a sensor/harness issue or even electrical interference.
replyreply
I'm at 650 hp. I'll have to try to find this leak.

replyreply
(07-21-2018 )tree98 Wrote:  I'm at 650 hp. I'll have to try to find this leak.