How much boost while jaking 871
08-04-2018, (Subject: How much boost while jaking 871 ) 
How much boost while jaking 871
Been wondering why my Jake's isn't working as well as it used to, just kinda noticed today it's only got 3lbs boost while jaking hard at 1600epm..... I swear it was much higher before.

This thing used to hold back super bees but now it won't even hold my tri axle. Boost is normal otherwise..... Gonna test it tomorrow, only other issue is my low oil pressure.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: How much boost while jaking 871
On my truck setting 1 ( 5 psi) on 2 ( 10 psi) on 3 ( 20 psi and my rpm 1400) down grapevine
replyreply
(08-04-2018 )Brock Wrote:  Been wondering why my Jake's isn't working as well as it used to, just kinda noticed today it's only got 3lbs boost while jaking hard at 1600epm..... I swear it was much higher before.

This thing used to hold back super bees but now it won't even hold my tri axle. Boost is normal otherwise..... Gonna test it tomorrow, only other issue is my low oil pressure.

Exhaust leak between the turbo and cylinder head or weak turbo
replyreply
If its a cm870 the turbo actuator control module is a good culprit to look at. They leak air or just go bad and wont send proper positioning air pressure to the actuator.
Also Jake solenoids that are weak or broken can cause this.
replyreply
Ours gets up to about 18~ish psi (cm871) on its highest setting at around 1400 - 1500 or so.

One possibility is weak electrical connection to the jake solenoids. The plug going into the head and/or the slip-on connector at the solenoid sometimes makes weak contact.