White Exhaust Stack
09-27-2018, (Subject: White Exhaust Stack ) 
White Exhaust Stack
Hey guys-

I’ve noticed my exhaust stack has been turning white. I have about 480k miles on the truck. Runs great (knock on wood). Our oil samples have been clean with no coolant. Haven’t had to add any either. We’ve been using Howes fuel additive for each fill up (which might be causing this). Any other suggestions, thoughts or opinions?? I called Cummins and they said we don’t have to use additive quite that often but I won’t hurt or help the performance of the engine. Let me know what y’all think. God Bless.

Attached File(s)Image(s)
./uploads/201809/post_3559_1538103907_ffe3a217471b107c16954cd95e5160fd.png
replyreply
09-27-2018, (Subject: White Exhaust Stack ) 
RE: White Exhaust Stack
Emissions still intact? Just looks like normal urea deposits to me.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
09-28-2018, (Subject: White Exhaust Stack ) 
I agree with brock. That is normal deposits from the urea...
replyreply
Emissions are still intact. Thanks for the information guys. Really appreciate it.
replyreply
When is the last time the IMAP and other sensors were cleaned and replaced?.

The DPF Doser injector cleaned or replaced behind the turbo?

The DEF filter screen and injector cleaned?.

It also has 480k on it,.. Have you replaced the guts in the fuel pump yet? -- If not, your tempting fate with the fuel pump failure of engine death syndrome. No one wants that.

User's Signature: ->: What I post is just my own thoughts and Opinions! --- I AM Full Of S__T!.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: DSTdriver , Waterloo
10-02-2018, (Subject: White Exhaust Stack )