Shake while driving
08-21-2019, (Subject: Shake while driving ) 
Shake while driving
I've been chasing a shake/shimmy in my truck now for 6 months....
New kingpins, new steer, and drive tires. Nee shocks, new u-joints and driveshaft balanced(no carrier brg.) Tightened all u-bolts. Dial indicator shows .060 out of found tire(left front). I feel the shake more in my seat....not in the wheel. Radial wobble is about .006 so that isn't a issue. Internet info I found says .080 is acceptable? Idk?
replyreply
RE: Shake while driving
Will be checking the run out on my drives tomorrow(I'm running recaps)...I suspect that one of them may be out of round...but this truck has had this shake for quite a while(long before I bought it)...the mirror supports were literally worn apart from the vibration...
replyreply
I would start looking at brake drums. Cheap drums aren’t balanced. I always use the lightweight more expensive drums because there balanced.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: barf , Old Driver , snailexpress , rrod , Creek
A friend of mine had a similar issue, had a shop throw all tire/rims on a balancer and they said they were all good but he decided to hold a pencil near one to see and sure as shi#t..... one of his rims was bent! The balancing place missed it but after a new rim he was good to go.

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: rrod , snailexpress , Rawze , quickrigs
08-23-2019, (Subject: Shake while driving ) 
Is it possible the steer rims have been curbed? Doesn't take much at all to get a wobble. Be careful.
replyreply
08-25-2019, (Subject: Shake while driving )