Davco filter upgrade
11-04-2019, (Subject: Davco filter upgrade ) 
Davco filter upgrade

Maybe this is common knowledge and I’m late to the party...

There’s two sizes of filters for the Davco 382. One is 3 3/4” diameter and the other is 4 1/4” diameter.

Both fit in the same filter housing, no special housing needed. This is my first time with the larger filter, I’m interested to see if it does a better job/lasts longer

User's Signature: I have no idea what I’m doing and probably need supervising
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo , barf , Toolguy
11-16-2019, (Subject: Davco filter upgrade ) 
RE: Davco filter upgrade

Two weeks and roughly 3500 miles and she’s full. I don’t think that’s any better than the smaller filters.

replyreply
I don't even think about using anything other than fleetguard filter on fuel and oil. Cummins owns them, Cummins makes them for the engine that they build. Best to trust the guys who have the biggest investment in the product succeeding.

Air filters on the other hand. Meh, cheepies changed often seems to work for me.
replyreply
(11-16-2019 )DDlighttruck Wrote:  Two weeks and roughly 3500 miles and she’s full. I don’t think that’s any better than the smaller filters.

I use a 10 micron fleetguard filter. It clogs up at about 18-20k miles or more, unless I get some bad fuel somewhere.

If yours is clogged up that fast,... something in your fuel system or tanks is very wrong!.

The filter is doing its job!... find out what is wrong!.

In the mean time, get some spare 10 micron filters / replace them often, maybe use some algicide!. The problem will eventually get solved.

User's Signature: ->: What I post is just my own thoughts and Opinions! --- I AM Full Of S__T!.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo , Toolguy
(11-16-2019 )Rawze Wrote:  
(11-16-2019 )DDlighttruck Wrote:  Two weeks and roughly 3500 miles and she’s full. I don’t think that’s any better than the smaller filters.