450ST CM2250 Help
08-16-2020, (Subject: 450ST CM2250 Help ) 
450ST CM2250 Help
Looking at a 2012 T800 with a 450ST CM2250 in it. We really want the truck as it matches the other one I purchased from this fella, but the one I bought had a 565 CM 870 Recon stuffed in it...

I guess I’m sort of let down in the fact that this truck I’m looking at has a 450ST The more I Read about them.

Can anyone tell me the main differences between the 450St and other CM2250 ISX15’s?

What is the safe Max HP for this engine as well? We will likely only be pulling a Tridem Grain trailer with it so I’m not too worried but I just would like to know that it will last.

Also it will be a farm truck so won’t see much more than 10,000kms a year.

Engine SN 79505574
CPL 3719
replyreply
RE: 450ST CM2250 Help
That engine has EGR, DPF and SCR. The 870 only has EGR. There are plenty of other internal differences, but I'm not an expert on that. For your application, farm use, you may want to consider getting rid of those systems, depending on your location and laws.

The 2250/2350/X15 all have a fuel pump that goes bad on average of 400,000 miles or equivalent engine hours. Typically you just rebuilt the pump head as a preventative measure for a few hundred $. Anyone with an hour, basic tools and a bench vise can get it done.

I have a 2012 450ST, it pulls 80,000lbs just fine, depending what gearing is in the truck. Keep the RPM over 1500, like the rest of the Cummins engines. The ST stands for Smart Torque, which gives a short term torque boost in the top 2 gears. Pretty sure it's just some software logic that is available on these newer engines. I think most people here turn that off (?). I think mine got bumped up around 525hp. I think it depends on which parts were used inside the engine. Sometimes in these newer engines the programming is all that limits it to a lower HP/Torque.