Latin America Cals for EGR/DPF Delete? Heard of that today.
09-03-2022, (Subject: Latin America Cals for EGR/DPF Delete? Heard of that today. ) 
Latin America Cals for EGR/DPF Delete? Heard of that today.
Hi, I own three trucks with CM870 and CM871. I am studying and learning on forum and other sites and yt, quickserve, etc. all I can about engine operation and maintenance. I like to work on my own trucks light to medium difficulty problems (cam swaps, overhead adjustments, turbo maintenance, etc).

Now I am trying to learn to do EGR and DPF Deletes and on the process of gettgin a good toughbook, Insite, Calterm to make some tests with some spares ECM I own.

Common practice here (Mexico) from technicians that charge $$$ for making Deletes are just installing Incal calibrations from latin american countries that for that year had no EGR or DPF installed on their trucks.

As I understand from what I have read from Rawze's technical discussions (EGR educate, MM, @m*m^2, MM for cm870) and other forum members this maybe is not enough and adjustments and changes should be made also on Calterm. Am I correct?

Two of my CM870 I bought them six years ago with block plates on the EGR intake and exhaust but no adjustments or deletes on ECM. One of them had to make an inframe last year because excess blowby was making a mess. The other one made a hole in the block eary this year so I need to address that so it won't happen again.

So, long story short, even if I pay a local technician to install a CM870 calibration with no EGR, or a CM871 calibration with no regen, adjustments still has to be made on Calterm? I asked him about Calterm and he doesn't even have it, and I believe that is common here so I am willing to invest my time and money so I can learn and maybe in the future could help other colleagues locally.

Any info about the subject would be appreciated!
replyreply
09-03-2022, (Subject: Latin America Cals for EGR/DPF Delete? Heard of that today. )