Rawze.com: Rawze's ISX Technical Discussion and more

Full Version: stuck clutch pedal
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey all, been a little bit. Took some time off recently and while getting the truck ready to roll I ran into an issue with the clutch or the clutch pedal. 2012 Pete 587, manual, mechanical clutch. Went to push the pedal down and barely made it half way when it got stuck. Pedal won't move up or down. I have no experience with this so I don't even know where to begin troubleshooting. I did have something similar happen a year ago after the truck sat for a while, although that time the clutch pedal went down with a little resistance, never got stuck and after a few times it was operating as smooth as ever.

Any thoughts? Truck was greased up just days prior to being parked then sat for a few months. Started it up a few times but never drove it. Supposed to take her in for an annual DOT inspection tomorrow...
A 2012 should have a self adjusting clutch. Pull your inspection cover and check the wear indicator. If it’s halfway to bad your clutch is shi#t
Before you climb under the truck and get all greasy, follow the clutch linkage. Your problem sounds a lot like one that one of my drivers had. It turned out to be a rusted through push rod that got hung up on the frame.
I'll check first thing tomorrow. Been raining here all day and now it's starting to get dark. Clutch pedal is stuck somewhere about 1/4-1/2 down (measuring from the top). Won't go down or up, can't even pull it up by hand. If I remember correctly this pedal is connected via a cable which is routed through the firewall and down through the engine bay. Figured I'd pull the plastic dash and also check to see if the pedal itself is binding up inside the cab. Poking around the rest of the internet too but most of the info I've found so far has to do with hydraulic clutch pedals.