Rawze.com: Rawze's ISX Technical Discussion and more

Full Version: CM2350 Derate-Low DEF
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello All,
Newbie here..

I have a cm2350 Cummins that has entered the dreaded 5mph derate cycle.

I am planning on de-mandating the truck myself {at some point}.

In the meantime , I have to work to make money so I have resorted to re-calibrating every 170-200 miles to keep the truck going whilst I familiarize myself with the Milk Money Process.

These are the pretty consistent stages of derate after every re-cal with Insite:

a. Truck enters 25% derate after 30 miles..
b. Truck enters 40% derate after 170 miles
c. Full 5mph derate if I idle for 5 mins or so or stop the engine.

See attached picture.

{part of post removed by rawze}.
What are the exact fault codes that you are getting in Insite?.

Is a bad DEF sensor?.. or is it actually low on DEF fluid??.

It is also not healthy just to keep re-flashing the ecm over and over. They do have a limited number of times they can be flashed, before wearing out the flash memory in them (depends on how old ecm is too)... albiet, it is quite a high number.

I.E.> Why not get a new sensor and fix the issue properly like you should be doing, instead of trying to "cheat the ecm", eventually causing SEVERE ENGINE DAMAGE, as that exhaust system clogs up more and more, you driving for the next few weeks against all the back-pressure that is building up.
Your post was not too clear ...

ARE YOU trying to get it off the side of the roads to make a delivery, and then take it home/somewhere to work on it? ... or are you just trying to just keep driving it against a most-likely blocked-up exhaust system intentionally?.

- When it gives you DEF and other alarms, that exhaust system management will stop working, and the DPF, etc. it will no longer keep itself clean.