Rawze.com: Rawze's ISX Technical Discussion and more

Full Version: CM871 Oil sample help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Good afternoon,

I got some good input in the past here so I wanted to see what the experts think. I have had an intermittent squeak that comes and goes but I have not been able to find it since I bought the truck. We pulled an oil sample and found high Iron and pulled another after 3k miles just to confirm and still high iron. Other then that truck runs fine. Only 141k miles and has 18-20psi idle and 28-35psi 1000rpm+ oil pressure. I am pretty new with oil reports and metallurgy. (I ran an overhead on the valve cam/engine brakes at 132k and cams looked okay) The truck generally averages 40-50 miles per day and 40 miles are usually empty so not a lot of hard work and heat. What could produce a squeak and only high iron with no real other trace metals? 2009 international ISX500V. I usually do all of my work in my shop but due to being so busy I may try to find a shop in MA/New England to take a second look if there are any suggestions? Cummins Northeast? Thank you,

Sam
That is not high iron.. that is WAAAY THE F$K TOO MUCH IRON!!!>..

At only 8k miles.. that iron level should be single digit!.

That's like spun bearing somewhere kind of high!.

You need to drop the pan and start inspecting things. Something is very wrong somewhere if that iron is not from it sitting and rusting away.
Yeah my Iron was at 26ppm with 20k on the oil. Something is definitely messed up. You lead and copper were also very high last sample which points to bearing failure.
(01-07-2024 )Rawze Wrote: [ -> ]You need to drop the pan and start inspecting things. Something is very wrong somewhere if that iron is not from it sitting and rusting away.