Your thoughts on cleaning injectors
10-23-2016, (Subject: Your thoughts on cleaning injectors ) 
Your thoughts on cleaning injectors
I was at a injector rebuild place dropping off some old cores when the conversation turned to the bubble test. He said all that test confirms is that you have air getting past the plunger and because they get carbon packed over time and instead of spending over $1000 for a new injector, 90% of the time they can be just cleaned out.

What are your thoughts on this?

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Your thoughts on cleaning injectors
(10-23-2016 )Brock Wrote:  I was at a injector rebuild place dropping off some old cores when the conversation turned to the bubble test. He said all that test confirms is that you have air getting past the plunger and because they get carbon packed over time and instead of spending over $1000 for a new injector, 90% of the time they can be just cleaned out.

What are your thoughts on this?

About 12 years ago I knew a guy that started his own shop. He got a machine that you connected to the fuel pump to bypass the fuel tank. In this machine they put a chemical, I don't know the name of, and ran your truck in this for about two hours or so. They said it was a chemical developed during WWII that they used to swab the bore on Howitzer cannons and such that burned the powder residue off the bore.

Midwest Detroit Diesel in Saskatoon actually recommended this before changing a problem injector, and 90% was about the success rate they talked about too. They inframed a truck about 6 months after he had this done, and they said they've never seen a combustion chamber that clean before.