Engine Down
02-26-2017, (Subject: Engine Down ) 
Engine Down
Truck was running fine made a delivery in upper state NY Running empty to my next load climbing a small hill and she started skipping and popping so i pulled over The first thing i did was pull the valve cover and didn't notice anything.At that point i knew i needed a tow truck so i called the last place i delivererd at they were a crane company and i was a crane operator and asked them for a recommendation for a shop and they suggested Johns Repair Shop. Than they offered to cum out and get my trailer for me and they did. I called Johns and they sent a wrecker and towed it to their shop..after pulling the cover and having another look we saw nothing wrong so we unplugged the ECM and cranked it over and noted it had a dead cylinder.....John said this wasn't in his scope of work ,,,,So i got on the phone and found a shop and towed it there..They thought it was a broken piston and pulled the head it turned out to be a broken valve in cyl #6 So they are putting new valves new seats and guides where needed new injectors The piece of the valve damaged the turbo so new turbo,thermostat,rod and main bearings all that will set me back $14k Not good because i just bought a new trailer 2 weeks ago....When it rains it pours
replyreply
RE: Engine Down
Sounds like maybe the head is worn out.

pics of the broken valve would be nice.

Here is a reference...

./uploads/201702/post_2_1488163297_01c4c08fc2c003cc5937e32d37b6ab0a.jpg

User's Signature: ->: What I post is just my own thoughts and Opinions! --- I AM Full Of S__T!.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Pro Star Cummins , Redpower870
I'm with Rawze. With the amount of miles you have on that truck, I'd replace the head with a NEW one. I think you are asking for trouble placing new valves into an old head. Probably be the same amount of money, no?

User's Signature: 2013 Volvo 670 with Big Red under the hood
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Redpower870