Cummins makes it hard to pre plan overhaul
07-04-2016, (Subject: Cummins makes it hard to pre plan overhaul ) 
Cummins makes it hard to pre plan overhaul
Trying to get together everything I need for when it comes time to inframe. New head is easy enough once I convinced them that YES you do sell new heads and not just reman.

The problem arises when trying to get the cylinder kits. They tell me I need to measure the liners to see if I have 150mm or 152mm.

.pdf  ISX Overhaul Kit Options.pdf (Size: 184.38 KB / Downloads: 337)

I also need to see if I have fracture split or saw cut connecting rods as that will change the rod bearing I need.

.pdf  ISX15QSX15 Fracture Split Con Rods.pdf (Size: 590.61 KB / Downloads: 793)

Thanks cummins.... your awesome!

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Cummins maes it hard to pre plan overhaul
Yes most are the 150mm order the kit per engine serial then after measure original with micrometer. Then just order the rod bearings after you pull apart. Most are saw cut.
replyreply
RE: Cummins makes it hard to pre plan overhaul
(07-04-2016 )gearhead Wrote:  Yes most are the 150mm order the kit per engine serial then after measure original with micrometer. Then just order the rod bearings after you pull apart. Most are saw cut.

I've got a 500 horse, so.mine is the highest hp and torque rating available with the family II. Any chance you've seen the 150mm in the lower hp but thicker 152mm for the higher or would you still think 150mm is my safe bet?

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
Take a look at my earlier post. Here is why you need to measure before you buy. Check your cpl number because it may not be in the batch of "big bore" engines.

http://rawze.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=490
replyreply