Ever take apart a Turbo actuator?
02-28-2020, (Subject: Ever take apart a Turbo actuator? ) 
Ever take apart a Turbo actuator?
./uploads/202002/post_1367_1582927705_736f1629a330ea11ebec8bed5b4f74e1.jpg

Generic pic.

The engine swap I'm doing, filled with coolant and there was a coolant leak from the actuator, turns out the threads in the actuator are stripped right out so I was going to buy a new actuator when i noticed it looks like the top housing can come apart? Cummins doesnt sell individual pieces but I wonder if any of you have taken one apart? I thought maybe I could grab a core and use the top section of the housing.....

User's Signature: I'm no mechanic, I'm just a guy that breaks down enough to know a bit.
replyreply
RE: Ever take apart a Turbo actuator?
They sure can..Rawze has S doing them. A couple hundred to put in new bearings...as a matter of fact my old housing is still there but the board was bad...
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Brock
Could also try a helicoil

User's Signature: 2010 Lonestar - CM871 - 13sp - 3.70s, 2016 T680 - cm2350 - 13sp - 3.36s - skateboarder
replyreply
(02-28-2020 )Brock Wrote:  Generic pic.

The engine swap I'm doing, filled with coolant and there was a coolant leak from the actuator, turns out the threads in the actuator are stripped right out so I was going to buy a new actuator when i noticed it looks like the top housing can come apart? Cummins doesnt sell individual pieces but I wonder if any of you have taken one apart? I thought maybe I could grab a core and use the top section of the housing.....

Sandra does them. I trained her on how to do them and she is good at them.. she has torn down, cleaned up, replaced bearings, boards, etc. in hundreds of them by now. She has gotten good at it.