bought a 2017 kw w900l
08-11-2020, (Subject: bought a 2017 kw w900l ) 
bought a 2017 kw w900l
First off i'd like to say hello to everyone, so hello.

I have been driving for 16 years now, been a o/op for about a year and a half, and this is the 3rd truck i've bought. My first 2 trucks we're daycabs, a 07 columbia, and a 14 volvo vnm, i am a local gas hauler and have recently decided to branch out some.

My new (to me) truck is a 2017 Kw W900l with isx15 500hp 1800tq, 18spd, 3.25 rears (bleh), 60" mid roof with 379k on the clock, and all factory intact equipment. I found this forum a while back when i was looking at another isx equipped truck, and i've been reading and learning about these engines, but naturally i have some questions, for clarification about my particular truck.

First off, with the mileage that's on my truck what would you recommend i go ahead and do as preventative maintenance, assuming that i know nothing about previous maintenance history other than i know its just out of warranty and its never had any major repairs at the dealership.

Does the fuel pump on this year of truck require the updated pistons and rebuild?

I am going to buy a diagnostic tool for it, would you recommend i buy a genuine nexiq usb link2 or can i get by with a knock off cummins inline tool (i am going to want to have some ecm work done at a later date) and what version of insite is best to use with this year model engine, and is calterm something that i may need later.

Anything else anybody can recommend that might put me ahead of the game?

here are the specs of my engine from cummins quickserve.

CONFIGURATIONS AND MODEL NAMES
EPA Model Name GCEXH0912XAU
Marketing Engine Configuration # D103012BB61
Marketing Model Name ISX15 500
Service Model Name ISX15 CM2350 X101
Technical Engine Configuration # D103012BX03
ENGINE BUILD DETAILS
Build Date 2016-04-22T00:00:00Z
Build Plant JEP - JAMESTOWN ENGINE PLANT
CPL # 4587
Shop Order SO45686