ISX oil pressure problems
09-29-2023, (Subject: ISX oil pressure problems ) 
ISX oil pressure problems
Hi everyone,

I got a Cummins ISX15 that’s been having some oil pressure issues. Only thing is I haven’t actually pulled the head off and actually dug deep into it. So the problem before I took it out of the truck was that the oil temperature would rise to 235 sometimes even 245 super fast. Oil temps would get to 235 during parked regens when it was 90-95 degrees outside. When we took it on several road tests it would hit 235 degrees on the temp and then the engine would lose oil pressure all the way to zero and would end up shutting the truck off. We even use a manual guage and it read zero on the road test. So it’s not electrical, my question is when I start pulling the motor apart where should I look? Is there certain oil galleys I need to look at? Do I just need to completely clean out the whole oil system? All suggestions considered because this is my first time dealing with this type of problem in an ISX15.
replyreply
RE: ISX oil pressure problems
Whats the history on this engine? Ever rebuilt? Major repairs lately? What about mileage, engine type (i.e- CM871, CM2250, CM2350, CM2450), etc? We will need info before any suggestions can be provided.

Also, how long have you owned this setup? Do you have any prior knowledge on how the engine was treated before you ended up with it? What truck is it currently installed in?
replyreply
 Thanks given by: tree98
Running it with zero oil pressure is a mistake!! You might have already eaten the bearings out of it. If it were mine I would hook up an external pump and push 30-35 psi of oil into the motor (engine not running) while looking at the bottom end bearings and cam bearings ( oil pan and valve cover off) you could be losing all your pressure through a spun bearing.

Actually you could find a spun bearing on the bottom end pretty easy just by removing the caps.

User's Signature: im_seeing_parameters_in_my_sleep 1