2022 T880 Endurant 12 sp 2.79 ratio
01-23-2024, (Subject: 2022 T880 Endurant 12 sp 2.79 ratio ) 
2022 T880 Endurant 12 sp 2.79 ratio
Hello, brand new to this forum so I apologize if this is in the wrong place or has been covered repeatedly.

I'm a grain farmer looking at buying a newer used semi and the one that's caught my eye is a 2022 Kenworth T880 with a 12 speed automated manual, day cab with 2.79 rears (150,000 miles, 4,500 hours). I saw somewhere on this site that that combination (12 sp & 2.79) was disliked by some. Hoping to get more info anyone can provide about this being a good or bad truck for my application.

I currently have a 2002 International 9400i with a 12 speed automated manual; not sure on rear ratio. I only add about 10,000 miles per year to my semi.
replyreply
RE: 2022 T880 Endurant 12 sp 2.79 ratio
Forgot to mention it has the Cummins X15 efficiency engine.
replyreply
Problem is with the 2.79s and the usual 2.64s they are usual paired with an overdrive transmission with a .73 final output ratio. Which basically translates into engine speeds well below 1500 and into the beating the engine to death dropped liners excessive wristpin wear bearing wear etc the slower you go with it. That's why we say get 3.55s and up assuming higher weight is involved.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: farmer_luke
01-24-2024, (Subject: 2022 T880 Endurant 12 sp 2.79 ratio ) 
(01-23-2024 )marek4792 Wrote:  Problem is with the 2.79s and the usual 2.64s they are usual paired with an overdrive transmission with a .73 final output ratio. Which basically translates into engine speeds well below 1500 and into the beating the engine to death dropped liners excessive wristpin wear bearing wear etc the slower you go with it. That's why we say get 3.55s and up assuming higher weight is involved.