Help choosing an 871 truck
02-03-2018, (Subject: Help choosing an 871 truck ) 
Help choosing an 871 truck
Hi, my name is serv. I haul tires for a living. We run 4 trucks about 100,000 miles each per year. Most of our loads are empty one way and ~60,000 lbs. gross loaded on our way back (on flat ground). I've been reading quite a bit of info here regarding isx engines and I've tenatively decided to try to find a used international daycab with an 871. We do all of our own mechanic work in house.

Sometime back, I met the owner of what appears to be very organized local trucking company. He runs 350 newish petes and kw's over the road. Says he has 2.5 trailers for every truck in his fleet. His company really has it together and they are currently the fastest growing local fleet. He told me about a used truck lot down the road that he owns and that they turn as many as 50 trucks per month through. He is not selling trucks there that he runs in his fleet. He said they have great used truck sources and hand pick every truck that goes through that lot. He also said that if any customer buys a truck and something goes wrong with the truck right away, they do what they have to and make it right.