Prostar ac
05-29-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #1
Prostar ac
I have a prostar 2011 and i have spent 15000 on just ac work . does any one know the problem every thing is new even the bcm. I need some help
replyreply
05-29-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #2
RE: Prostar ac
Whats it doing?
replyreply
05-29-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #3
RE: Prostar ac
It stops blowing cold but if i turn truck off or pull high pressure off. Or pull fuse it will work for 20 or 30 min
replyreply
05-29-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #4
RE: Prostar ac
It is 99% always the thermisters. You are taking it to morons and crooks! - Plain and simple, and if you spent that much, then you are only being a gullable fool!.

The programming in the cab controller on a prostar is designed to suck the money out of you at the stealershits nonstop for the A/C on a prostar! -- You are caught squarely in its grip!.

YOu have 2 solutions ...
1) learn how to replace the thermistors and service it yourself, keeping after it

,... or if you like to tinker with Arduino and are a crazy lunatic that can't leave s%it alone like me ...

2) bypass the crap s%$it cab controller and put an Arduino on it to control it yourself. Here is the one I made for mine...
   

Here is the hookup diagram...
   

The parts that I happened to have used ...
The pro micro: https://amzn.to/2VcoBHl
Relay Module: https://amzn.to/2URvUiE
Voltage converter: https://amzn.to/2JdnHTG
Temp Sensor I used: https://amzn.to/2H0h8T7



I used my 3d printer to make a nice holder, but a person could also just hot-glue the boards to the backing of a clip-board that has been cut down, and use a terminal strip at its edge ( https://amzn.to/2Vf8gll )for the connections.

* I used a long piece of small 3-conductor wire for the temp sensor that I mounted against the evaporator (the core in the cab of the truck that gets cold). I had to seal the temp sensor from moisture really well for it not to get erratic readings. I just buried it and the soldered wire connection in clear silicone and let it dry. I also used the silicone to also glue it to the evaporator core near the bottom left of it.

* I had to turn the "constant current" adjustment screw on the voltage converter all the way up to max, and i had to adjust the "voltage" adjustment screw on it for +5.0 Volts DC using a volt meter.

Here is the code I am currently running it with. I wrote it myself... Use at own risk! -- Seems to work very well for me, even better than the factory. It will not shut down or fault out unless there is no pressure in the system.

Code:

raw code: https://gist.githubusercontent.com/Rawze...C_v02a.ino

and for anyone looking for the wiring diagram for the truck, here it is as a reference: http://bodybuilder.navistar.com/General/...s08339.pdf


User's Signature: ->: What I post is just my own thoughts and Opinions! --- I AM Full Of S__T!.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: PuroCumminsPower , barf , JMBT , mikealike , rrod , Matt , Sergiu , patricks
05-30-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #5
RE: Prostar ac
I have the parts, but no clue on how to do this.... You need a video Rawze, seriously. Or set up a desk in the house, I'll pay $500 to get this issue solved if it works.
replyreply
05-30-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #6
RE: Prostar ac
(05-29-2017 )Rvest Wrote:  I have a prostar 2011 and i have spent 15000 on just ac work . does any one know the problem every thing is new even the bcm. I need some help
Wow 15k just on ac repair?? You need to buy all of the tools and learn how to service it yourself i have a prostar myself and yeah they are a painin the butt, i basically replaced ac compressor,termistors, front expansion valve, the accumulator,the cabin filter i bought the vacuum pump to vacuum the system and check for any leaks in all that i probably spend like 500-600 and the 4 cans of freon i did all that myself now the system blowing cold air, freaking morrons of stealerships some times if not all the time guessing what the problem is and still don't fix the problem sorry to hear that u spend tgat much money with that you could of bought the whole brand new system plus tools,little piece of advice like Rawze says if you can do it yourself there's pleny infirmation on the net or youtube Rawze videos
replyreply
05-30-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #7
RE: Prostar ac
Wow Rawze, I don't even have a pro star, but that is incredible!! I showed my wife and told her she needs to learn to write code like that!!


User's Signature: Anti-seize EVERYTHING, Except injectors...Use Petroleum Jelly!!!
replyreply
05-30-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #8
RE: Prostar ac
(05-30-2017 )RTRUCKING48 Wrote:  
(05-29-2017 )Rvest Wrote:  I have a prostar 2011 and i have spent 15000 on just ac work . does any one know the problem every thing is new even the bcm. I need some help
Wow 15k just on ac repair?? You need to buy all of the tools and learn how to service it yourself i have a prostar myself and yeah they are a painin the butt, i basically replaced ac compressor,termistors, front expansion valve, the accumulator,the cabin filter i bought the vacuum pump to vacuum the system and check for any leaks in all that i probably spend like 500-600 and the 4 cans of freon i did all that myself now the system blowing cold air, freaking morrons of stealerships some times if not all the time guessing what the problem is and still don't fix the problem sorry to hear that u spend tgat much money with that you could of bought the whole brand new system plus tools,little piece of advice like Rawze says if you can do it yourself there's pleny infirmation on the net or youtube Rawze videos

He is not the only one out here that has dropped some coin on these AC units. My next big purchase will be a commercial AC vac unit if this AC fails again on me this year. It is much cheaper in the long run to just redo the system several times a year with the right equipment in my DRIVEWAY. Unless Rawz hold a class and how to do this Andrino stuff, which I am more than open to. I have no desire to drop another few grand on equipment I should not need to own.
replyreply
05-31-2017, (Subject: Prostar ac ) 
Post: #9
RE: Prostar ac
15 grand sounds crazy. Coulda overhauled it 5 times over for that. Rawze you definitely need to make a vidyo on that there contraption. International really dropped the ball with the cab controllers on these trucks.
replyreply
 Thanks given by: Waterloo





  
  
Theme by MyBB Addict
Contact Us | Rawze.com | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication